Opportunies For English Speakers

European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship 2018 / 2019

European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship 2018 / 2019

Deadline: June 7, 2017

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 19 participating Institutes: Aarhus, Amsterdam, Berlin, Bologna, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Edinburgh, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Madrid, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Warsaw, Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars. For the 2018-2019 academic year, EURIAS offers 54 fellowships (26 junior and 28 senior positions).

EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, provided that their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 19 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three Institutes for Advanced Studies outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.

The Programme welcomes applications worldwide from promising young scholars (postdoc) as well as from leading senior researchers. The EURIAS selection process has proven to be highly competitive. In order to match the Programme standards, applicants have to submit a solid and innovative research proposal, to demonstrate the ability to forge beyond disciplinary specialisation, to show an international commitment as well as quality publications in high-impact venues. The EURIAS Consortium welcomes applications from scholars at risk.


  • All IAS have agreed on common standards, including the provision of a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses.


  • Junior fellowships: Junior fellowships are offered to researchers having by the time of the application:
  • A PhD
  • 2 to 9 years of full-time research experience after obtaining the PhD (PhD training is not considered in the calculation of experience)
  • Senior fellowships: Senior fellowships are offered to researchers having by the time of the application:
  • A PhD
  • Minimum 10 years of full-time research experience after obtaining a PhD
  • PhD is not requested for Law scholars. In this case, the fellowship categories are defined as follows:
  • Junior fellowships: Master +6 to 13 years of full-time research experience;
  • Senior fellowships: Master + minimum 14 years of full-time research experience.

Application Process

  • Applications are submitted online, where you will find detailed information regarding the content of the application;
  • Applicants must provide full application forms, curricula, PhD diploma, publications, two letters of recommendation for junior applicants, detailed research proposals. Incomplete applications are not considered;
  • Late applications are not considered (the online application platforms prevents applicants from submitting after the deadline)

Important Dates

  • Launch of the call for applications – May 5, 2017
  • Application deadline  June 7, 2017, 4 pm GMT – Greenwich Mean Time –  (6 pm Paris/Brussels Time)
  • Results of the preselection by EURIAS Scientific Committee – Mid – November, 2016
  • Publication of IAS final selections – Mid – January, 2018
  • Arrival of fellows  September/October 2018

For more information, visit EURIAS Fellowship.

Laisser un Commentaire

En savoir plus sur Concoursn.com

Abonnez-vous pour poursuivre la lecture et avoir accès à l’ensemble des archives.

Continue reading