Opportunies For English Speakers

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme at UK Universities

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme at UK Universities

DFID/UK Universities
Masters Degree

Deadline: 1 April 2016 (annual)
Study in:  UK
Course starts Sep/Oct 2016

Brief description:

Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK .

These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching.

Participating Universities(s)/Fields of Study:

See the list of participating universities and eligible courses.

Number of Scholarships:

Around 200+ scholarships.

Target group:

Nationals of Commonwealth Developing Countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda Nauru, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana,  British Virgin Islands, Namibia, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana,  India,  Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia,  Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena,  St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa,  Sri Lanka,  Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, and Zambia)

Scholarship value/inclusions:

Shared Scholarships are jointly funded by the CSC and participating UK universities. Each Scholarship provides approved tuition and examination fees, approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award, stipend, thesis grant, warm clothing allowance, study travel grant, and excess baggage allowance.


To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:

•  Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
•  Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
• Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2016
• By August 2016, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard
• Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
• Be unable, either yourself or through your family, to pay to study in the UK

Application instructions:

You should apply to study an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Shared Scholarship scheme. You must check with your UK university for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications.

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). All applications must be submitted by 1 April 2016 at the latest. Each university has its own closing date for applications, and most fall before 1 April 2016.

It is important to read the 2016 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus and visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:  http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/info-candidates/

Laisser un Commentaire