SUEZ-Institut de France Award: Calling Innovative Solutions for Access to Water, Sanitation and Waste Management

SUEZ-Institut de France Award: Calling Innovative Solutions for Access to Water, Sanitation and Waste Management

Deadline: 15 December 2019

Applications are now open for the SUEZ–Institut de France Award to lead the development of water services, sanitation and waste management in developing countries.

Ad 10+ Amazing Tools to find New Grants & Donors
We have carefully crafted more than 10 different tools for you to build funding partnerships with new donors. Learn more.

The SUEZ-Institut de France Award follows the principles and organisation of the “Water for All” competition, which it replaced in 2011. It rewards projects and innovations that contribute to the development of water services, sanitation and waste management in developing countries.


The jury will give priority to projects:

Ad A Clean Webpage to view all Grants & Resources
Premium Members can view upcoming funding opportunities, grant deadlines, downloadable ebooks, sample proposals and search for new grants by country and areas of interest on a single, ad-free Member Dashboard. Watch Video or Learn more.
  • Designed for appropriation by local stakeholders and the project’s beneficiaries (populations, local authorities, etc.);
  • Enabling the integration and participation of at-risk populations;
  • Applicable to urban and peri-urban environments.


The SUEZ-Institut de France Award includes two categories, for two types of applicant:

The Access to Essential Services Award

Ad How to get early information about upcoming grants?
With so few grants and so many applications, you may not always be successful unless you are ahead of your competitors. Sign up for our Premium Membership and receive early grant information so that you can apply on time – before others can do! Learn more.
  • For a sum of €50,000 (fifty thousand euros) is awarded to a non-profit organisation as a reward for its innovation;
  • It aims at creating a bridge between applied research and operational development projects. The objective is to promote the innovations to the greatest number of people so that then they may be used by professionals in the water, sanitation and waste management sectors in developing countries. The innovations, applicable in the field, can be technical, organisational, financial or social, and may concern tools for spreading information and knowledge.

The Social Entrepreneurship Award

  • For a sum of €50,000 (fifty thousand euros), is awarded to a social entrepreneur for an initiative in the field of water access, sanitation or waste management;
  • It aims at supporting business activities developed by social entrepreneurs in the sectors of water, sanitation and waste management in developing countries. These initiatives, which often generate jobs, have a positive social impact, particularly for poor and at-risk populations.

Eligibility Criteria

The SUEZ-Institut de France Award is open to any non-profit organization (Access to Essential Services Award) and to any social entrepreneur (Social Entrepreneurship Award) who have developed an innovative and replicable project contributing to the development of water services, sanitation or waste management services in developing countries, preferably applicable to urban and peri-urban areas.

Ad View Upcoming Grant Deadlines in a Calendar Format
What if you come to know all the upcoming grant deadlines in a calendar format. This unique feature is available for our Premium Members so that they can quickly identify deadlines in one single glance. Watch Video or Learn more.

Selection Criteria

Applications are selected according to the following criteria. Projects already subsidised by the Foundation SUEZ cannot win the Award:

  • The project contributes to the improvement or development of water services, sanitation or waste management;
  • The project concerns at least one developing country;
  • The project has already produced conclusive results through one or several significant pilot phases;
  • The project is replicable (generalisation to different contexts, easy implementation, adapted costs, etc.); The project must be free of all rights or at least not subject to restrictive intellectual property rights;
  • The applicant organisation and the team responsible for the project are recognised for their qualifications and experience;
  • The application form complies and is complete in form and content, the answers to the requested information are concise and clear, the presentation is clear etc;
  • The application form must explain and describe the use that will be made of the Award funds in order to improve water services, sanitation or waste management in developing countries.

Selection criteria specific to the Access to Essential Services Award

Ad Write New Projects, Develop Fresh Ideas
With an extensive collection of Sample Proposals from successful grantees from all around the world, it is easy for our Premium Members to quickly write new projects and get fresh ideas to propose to donors for funding. Watch Video or Learn more.
  • The application is presented by a non-profit organisation (research institute, training institute, association, etc.). It cannot be awarded to one single person;
  • The project is supported or developed locally in collaboration with a public organisation (local authority, decentralised government service, etc.).

Selection criteria specific to the Social Entrepreneurship Award

  • The candidature is presented by a social entrepreneur;
  • The project is locally supported or developed in collaboration with local stakeholders.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can apply online via given website.

Ad Complete Guidance on How to Raise Funds
If you are involved in the process of raising funds, you will have lots of questions: How to write proposals, how to contact donors, how to develop a budget, what is a concept note, how to create an NGO profile. Our downloadable Ebooks cover all these topics. Watch Video or Learn more.

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial, Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

For more information, please visit

Laisser un commentaire

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :