Grant Opportunities

Open Call: Seed Grant for New African Principal Investigators

Open Call: Seed Grant for New African Principal Investigators

Deadline: 24-May-22

UNESCO-TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) have launched a new programme to strengthen the capacity of African countries lagging in science and technology.

The programme is aimed at young scientists who are getting established in their country or are about to return home to an academic position.

Seed Grant for New African Principal Investigators (SG-NAPI) is fully funded by The German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

The grants, which are normally provided for a period of 24 months, may be used to purchase scientific equipment, consumables, which can include fieldwork partially and maintenance of equipment and specialized literature (textbooks and proceedings only).

Scientists working in the following research areas can apply for an SG-NAPI award:

Earth Sciences
Information Computer Technology
Medical Sciences
Funding Information
Research Grants to research units amount to a maximum of USD 67,700.

Eligibility Criteria
In order to apply in year 2022, candidates must fulfil the following criteria:

Be below the age of 40.
Obtained their Ph.D. within the last 5 years.
Returned to their home country within the last 36 months.
Hold, be offered or be in the process of accepting a position at an academic and/or research institution (including international research centers) in their home country.
Be nationals of an eligible African country that is lagging in science and technology, as follows:
Western Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.
Eastern Africa: Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mauritius, Reunion, Rwanda, Sudan, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.
Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé, Principe.
Southern Africa: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Eswatini (Swaziland), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Applications from women scientists are especially encouraged.
For more information, visit

Laisser un Commentaire

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :