Entrepreneurs - ONG - StartUp

Nominations open for International Literacy Prizes

Nominations open for International Literacy Prizes

Deadline: 5-Jul-24

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is currently accepting nominations for the 2024 International Literacy Prizes.

They’re encouraging literacy education experts to apply and urging nominating organizations to recommend candidates from around the world.

Six awards will be given to individuals or organizations with exceptional projects that advance literacy learning. This year, programmes are asked to center around the theme “Promoting multilingual education: Literacy for mutual understanding and peace.

The theme shows how, in today’s world, where multilingualism is a common practice for many, adopting a first-language-based, multilingual approach can help promote mutual understanding and respect, while solidifying communal identities and collective histories

For over 50 years, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have been honoring excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. With over 518 projects and programmes recognized and supported globally, they’ve celebrated exceptional contributions in this domain.

Prize Information

  • In 2022, at least one out of seven adults aged 15 and above (765 million) lacked basic literacy skills (UIS, 2024). Additionally, millions of children are struggling to acquire minimum levels of proficiency in reading, writing and numeracy, while some 250 million children of 6-18 years old are out of school. To close the literacy gap and promote possibilities for future learning and social participation, UNESCO awards six laureates with two highly esteemed literacy prizes on annual basis:
    • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): established in 1989 and supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea.
      • Each award winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
      • This Prize gives special consideration to programmes that promote mother language-based literacy development which helps preserve linguistic diversity and empower individuals and communities to participate more fully in global conversations, work, and cultures.
    • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): established in 2005 and supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China.
      • Each of the 3 winners receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.
      • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy acknowledges programmes that endorse various forms of literacy, including functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth. This Prize recognizes the importance of literacy in a world where connected technologies are increasingly integral to participation in areas of life, learning, and work.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The application is open to all governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning through projects and programmes.
  • Applications should be submitted to the nominating entities either the National Commission for UNESCO in the programme’s country, or a NGO in official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to submit the nominated individuals’, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO. The nominations will be assessed by an independent International Jury, composed of five experts based on the selection criteria.
  • Based on the recommendations of the International Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will select the finalists to be awarded at the occasion of International Literacy Day on 8 September 2024.
  • Candidates can submit their applications through the online platform. For more information about the application and nomination process, kindly visit the official website of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

For more information, visit UNESCO.

Laisser un Commentaire